Sad Day – Remembering Theresa

from_wit

Today marks the second anniversaryof the death of Theresa Duncan, the inspiration of The Wit Continuum.  She was a great story writer, a film maker, and a creator of video games.  Theresa became an icon in the blogging world.  Her blog, The Wit of the Staircase, lives on in cyber-space, a reminder of what the truest wit can achieve in thought and writing (and interesting photo finds).  It became Theresa’s  final call in an esoteric, yet strangely sad, life.  It was too short, Theresa.  We would have liked to see more.  Why you gave up, we will never know, but in some infinitesimal way, I understand.  You left a haunting story behind…it will not die for a long time, if ever. Which is part of why I write here;  keeping  the candle burning, keeping the links alive.

What drew me first to her story was an article called Folie A Deux written for California Style shortly after Theresa’s death.  (Full article is in my Pages).   I’ve always been drawn stories that have me think:  one could not write a fiction better than this.  An inexplicable suicide of a glamorous, intelligent artist who was so young (only 40) and seemed to have a beautiful bohemian life, certainly had a beautiful love.  What made this story even more haunting was that seven days after her suicide by overdose of sleeping medication and alcohol, Theresa’s lover of 12 years, digital artist Jeremy Blake, took his own life by drowning himself in the Atlantic Ocean.  The deep probing question of why has been prevalent for two years now.

1heartbeat

Theresa was an intelligent, exceptional writer, who made connections that none can fathom.  Her blog shows this clearly.  I enjoyed purveying it so much, she inspired me to start The Wit Continuum last September.  Some of her blogging style I have adopted, as you can see, but I notice it a lot of the blogs I’ve touched upon in the past year who have also loved and written about Theresa as well.  Spiraling my own thoughts and interesting stories, books, or ideas that I find, as well as writing about the fair Ms. Duncan, has been a source of joy for me, a challenge. 

Paranoid delusions and scientology conspiracies aside, Her story will never die.   One of my goals is to keep the speculation alive.  With a film about Theresa and Jeremy in the works right now, I think we’ll have more to blog about for years to come. 

Peace Theresa…wherever you are.

7 Comments

  1. This was a really nice tribute to Theresa, Jenn. I didn’t realize it was two years now. Wow. Hard to believe.

    All my love,

    SB

    Like

  2. A unique woman and a sad ending for her and Jeremy – it is difficult to believe that much time has gone by. When people die so young it almost seems like they are suspended in time like that, the idea of them, still young and in love, forever doesn’t it?

    L

    Like

  3. Keeping the speculation alive is foolish. They died by their own hands. Have you ever spoken to anyone who actually knew them?

    Like

  4. Bettie,
    Sorry, haven’t spoken to anyone who actually knew them? Have you? I know they died by their own hands, that is not the speculation I wish to keep alive. What I am haunted by is the “why?” two beautiful people would actually do something like this. It is perplexing and mysterious. And the story of their lives and the possibilities that could have unfolded with them are what we wonder about.

    Like

  5. I see some of the comments have not been so kind. Do not let them hurt your heart. I know you are a good person; a great person! I, too, did not realize it was 2 years. I have not seen anything further detailing the upcoming movie. I have a feeling it is quite a ways off. This was a nice, short tribute and reminder. Good Job!

    It is hard for me to get to a PC at home and I am still blocked by the filters at work. I will try to be more consistent in the future as I miss reading your stuff! Hello and love to SB as well!

    Like

  6. Deb,
    So nice to hear from you again. Thank you so much for the comments and compliments, on my blog, my artwork, and myself. I sense you have a very sweet and gifted heart. Yes, do stay in touch when you can. The tribute for Theresa was a pleasure to do, the drawing as well.
    Thanks again…hope your summer is fulfilling and peaceful.
    Luv ya, Jenn

    Like

Comments are closed.