A Poem for Theresa Duncan…the girl who wanted to be conspicuous…

TheresaKnowing what you wanted…

you became

just that…

 

with your words, with your images,

my dear, with all those lies you said

you believed, undoubtedly

were true.

You became haunted by your own people,

by garbage cans and gas grills,

by cars and priests,

by mirrors and musicians,

by men in black and booze,

by a secret lunar society,

and cults who cannot explain things

to any of us…

or to anyone. 

 

We saw your talent:  in the games

you created, The History of Glamourhistoryofglam

paralleling your life’s design.

We witnessed your lasting love,

your marriage without papers.

What you had to live for…

if only you recognized

the regular day,

if only you were witnessing

what we had witnessed.

 

You were the true “wit”,

the diva of the Staircase,

which lives on and on

without you, in cyberspace,

haunting us all with your beauty.

Some moments, those when I hit the

middle mark, I think

I can see a bit of you.

A woman has her mysteries, my dears,

a woman has her secrets.

What a relief it would be to not have

to “become” …

to become anything, anymore.

 

We are told not to speculate.

We are told we are riding your coattails.

We are told the mystery is not “duncanology.”

We are told to let you rest in peace.

 

What is it you wanted?

Anonymity?  To be always the unknown girl from Lapeer?

I think not…

 

In death

you became ever more

scan0010
Tess by j.rains

conspicuous.

 

Poem by J. Rains with respect for Theresa Duncan. The Wit of the Staircase.

15 thoughts on “A Poem for Theresa Duncan…the girl who wanted to be conspicuous…

  1. What a beautiful poem, Jenn. Very well said. You captured TD so well.

    Theresa is even more special to me because she connected the two of us.

    Sending love and blessings,

    SB

    Like

  2. SB,
    I’m happy we connected thru her too. Was going to save this for a remembrance for her birthday but I was too eager to share. Thanks for your encouragment.

    Love ya, always, Jenn

    Like

  3. So pretty! SB is right; a dead-on capture of Wit. I still look for clues about her and I dont know why. Keep blogging! D

    Like

  4. It’s good Jenn….

    I like these lines a lot, “What a relief it would be to not have/to “become” …/to become anything, anymore.” I also like the words you chose for the end stanza – very good effect.

    Love, Lis

    Like

  5. Very pretty.

    I just want to say that I really love what you’re doing on The Wit Continuum. I can see we’ve both been touched/inspired by TD. I hope we’ll be able to keep in touch.

    Like

  6. Hey everyone, told you I was bucking for a nasty. Some guy said that she would have hated this…Ya know what dude, if she was still here, I wouldn’t have written it nor had a reason to.

    Do I sound bitter?

    Peace…

    Like

Comments are closed.