Seriously…who needs a drink?

Seriously…anyone need a drink? I must say, after the past few days I’m in dire need. So this is a bit of a NaNo writing update. Suffered major setbacks with my story this weekend, and performed the bloodiest un-necessary surgery on my story, yes, during the first draft, and pulverized about 2000 words from my word count. How does tequila sound?

I have this problem, even though I don’t consider myself a highly dysfunctional perfectionist, I can’t stand when something is sitting there all wrong…it paralizes my momentum, and subsequently, when this flaw dawned on me, I could not longer write my story. …So I went in, with the delete-key blade and performed surgery. I ended up being satisfied by Sunday night, but the word count made me flinch.  On Monday, I officially wrote nothing. I just couldn’t recover my love, my feeling, my passion.  I started thinking…switch to short stories, start something else, re-write some more fairy tales, write 20 pages of “you suck”, copy some other novel, what ever.  Instead, the day really paid off, because as these fruitless thoughts did their rampage through my brain, I realized that what I was doing was good, maybe exceptionally good, and that with some editing (later–yes!) it could be publishable.  So I dove in on Tuesday and banged out nearly 3200 words, tied up the loose ends from post surgery trauma, and infused the story with some nice intrigue and mystery set ups.  I hope. I may be waving my own freak flag, but hey, sometimes we have to give ourselves our own thumbs up too! Right? 

On top of this, handling those nasty comments from this weekend (on Nip Tuck Scene post from last week, if you didn’t catch it) on this very fine blog which I love, love, love and refuse to retire from, didn’t help my writing situation, but it did spur my courage to push on no matter what people, I mean assholes with assholes, say about me personally or professionally. The use of the c-word pushed me over the edge a bit, not that I lost one bit of sleep over it, but it made me wonder: How could some nice girl, from a nice town, with nice intentions,  nicely share her opinions as she has a right to,  not asking for any money to do it,  is always willing to engage in constructive thoughts and other’s opinions, even if they differ from hers,  and nicely share some eye-candy with those she cares about,  end up being called such a word as the c-word??? 

It makes one wonder…

Pushing on through with the National Novel Writing Month of November.  It truly has become a memorable one. I think I’ll have that drink now.

Photo by Doisneau

5 Comments

  1. Jenn,

    I’m so glad you not only were able to move forward with your story but that you’re excited about it again! Pondering things over isn’t wasted time or being lazy, sometimes it makes the time when you sit down to write, really profitable. You go ahead and have that drink–I’ll do the same as you suggested!

    Cheers 2 you my friend!
    Love, Lis

    Like

  2. ha haaa! love your neuroses. they make me feel unalone in a world filled with my own quizzical ramblings.

    ta…love this gem. will pop by again.

    jane

    Like

  3. Good for you for being so self-disciplined and kicking the work out. I don’t have enough writerly discipline to ever write a novel EVER. I’m a methodist, and I have the damn attention span of a gerbil, so a blog entry or two is about as much as I can commit myself to.

    Sending love, SB.

    Like

Any thoughts?

