It’s Official….

Yeah!!

It’s official. I completed the 50K  last night and it feels so good! It was a nice challenge and truly made this month go so fast. Now, before you know it, Christmas will be haunting us, my second favorite time of year. (summer is first.)

My novel is not done, however. So I’m going on with it, keeping up the 2,000 or so words a day it will take to complete it, which may take a week or two.  This challenge gives you the knowledge that you can set the time and do it. Novels don’t just happen one night. They take countless hours of writing time, brainstorming time, research, interviews if necessary…not to mention rewrites (which I so dread, but am feeling up for the challenge now more than ever.)

Someone recently said to me anyone can write a book.  I tried not to bop him on the head with the 548 page book I was looking at at the time. Really? I said. What makes you think that?  This, from a guy who reads zilch as far as novels go, zilch as far as non-fiction goes, unless of course it’s some money-making quick lick book. He knows someone who published a novel, self-published, so he’s under the impression that anyone can do it.  Any one can publish their book, I guess, but is it a book worth publishing?  That’s the question.  I sure hope mine is…I have a feeling.

Congratulations to all who participated, winning or not. I hope the challenge made you learn something about yourself as a person and as a writer.

One thought on “It’s Official….

Any thoughts?

