Doisneau’s Stories

Each one of Robert Doisneau’s brilliant photographs tells a story. I find my eyes glued to one for a period of time with the character’s life flitting through my brain…the possibilities endless. Who are they? Where are they going? What little quirks do they carry with them? What life is like being around them? Here are just a few of my favorites–and I stress just a few, for most of them I find so damn intriguing. I featured one in an earlier post:
“Seriously…who needs a drink?” 

Kiss by the Hotel de Ville 1958
Les Chiens de la Chapelle, 1953
Square du Vert-Galant, 1950
Jacques Pervert Paris, 1955
Musician in Rain
2 thoughts on “Doisneau’s Stories

  1. Jenn,

    I completely agree with you–I have the same wandering thoughts about the subjects, who they were, what mattered to them. I love his work as well. You could work up a short story about one of them maybe, what do you think? Have you ever gone to an antique shop/mall and looked through the old photos? I begin to imagine stories and always wonder if their lives were good or bad and did they find love.

    I have to say Jenn, you always seem to find interesting photographs and pics for your website–interesting new artists as well as the old. Well done!

    Love, Lis

    Like

Any thoughts?

