Those days of enchantment…

Upon reading this morning Flandrum Hill’s blog about December days of enchantment, I couldn’t help but think about what this month continually means to this Wit, with yet another year’s end approaching with the sound of aggressive horse’s hoofbeats…

The end of each year proposes numerous changes to deal out in many aspects of life. I sensed them coming so swiftly for days now, if not weeks, and my blogs no doubt showed this. Nothing serious, mind you, but I think we all feel a bit of resolution at the end of the year…whether we believe in resolutions or not, and I do not really, but I do think of changes I’d like to make in different areas of my life.  We make promises to exercise more, eat less junk, stop wasting energy, stop wasting time, set schedules, stop smoking; whatever the need.  I am no different; I am thinking of all these things too (except the stop smoking, since I don’t smoke to begin with).  And the lingering end-of-the-year question:

What is to come?

I love the word enchantment, because it bring about a sense of wonder, not of doubt.  It makes us realize that there is something beyond all bleakness, that new days come, bright with awareness and fullness of reason, that “something circling inside” our minds is telling us perhaps: you are exactly where you are supposed to be; enjoy it and see what arises.

You have said what you are.
I am what I am.
Your actions in my head,
my head here in my hands
with something circling inside.
I have no name
for what circles
so perfectly.

                              -Rumi 

So, with the enchantments of December filling my head, and the new year gaining energy before me, I sense some changes coming to mind, a new awakening, if you will.  Look here in the days ahead and you will find fresh appearances and new material at the Wit Continuum.  I am certainly not at my wit’s end, and I do hope you all will appreciate my endeavors, which come from the heart and soul of a wing-ed woman, whose thoughts are always circling, always soaring into strange horizons.

Something opens our wings. Something
makes boredom and hurt disappear.
Someone fills the cup in front of us.
We taste only sacredness.

Peace…

2 thoughts on “Those days of enchantment…

  1. Hey Jenn,

    Can’t wait to see what you’re cooking up! Hope you had a nice holiday with your family. What will the New Year hold? I’m thinking Big myself…..!

    Love, Lis

    Like

  2. What inspiring words, Jenn. I loved the energy of this post already… and the enchantment you described. Wow. For some reason, I am really vibing into that. I love, love your description of it and the sense of joy it brings. Looking forward to changes afoot here at the Wit… Peace to you.

    ~April

    Like

Any thoughts?

