Sun throughout the day…

TROWBRIDGE STREET

BY Octavio Paz

Sun throughout the
Cold throughout the sun
Nobody on the streets
parked cars
Still no snow
but wind wind
A red tree
still burns
in the chilled air
Talking to it I talk to you

I am in a room abandoned by language
you are in another identical room
Or we both are
on a street your glance has depopulated
The world
imperceptibly comes apart
Memory
decayed beneath our feet
I am stopped in the middle of this
unwritten line

Doors open and close by themselves
Air
enters and leaves our house
Air
talks to itself talking to you
Air
nameless in the endless corridor
Who knows who is on the other side?
Air
turns and turns in my empty skull
Air
turns to air everything it touches
Air
with air-fingers scatters everything I say
I am the air you don’t see
I can’t open your eyes
I can’t close the door
The air has turned solid

This hour has the shape of a pause
This pause has your shape
You have the shape of a fountain made
not of water but of time
My pieces bob
at the jet’s tip
what I was……am……still am not
My life is weightless
The past thins out
The future……a little water in your eyes

Now you have a bridge-shape
Our room navigates beneath your arches
From your railing we watch us pass
You ripple with wind…more light than body
The sun on the other band
grows upside down
Its roots buried deep in the sky
We could hide ourselves in its foliage
Build a bonfire with its branches
The day is habitable

The cold has immobilized the world
Space is made of glass

Glass made of air

The lightest sounds build
quick sculptures
Echoes multiply and scatter them
Maybe it will snow

The burning tree quivers

surrounded now by night

Talking to it I talk to you

Translated by Eliot Weinberger

Photo sources:

An Empty Street by Michiru Haranda
Empty Room  by Fashistt
Fountain by  Alex Durdan
Burning Tree  by Jean Francois

7 Comments

  1. Love this post…I haven’t read this poem before, thanks for bringing it to my attention. I love how you put this one together. Cheers my friend!

    Love, Lis

    Like

  2. WOW!! This is a beautiful work and love the images you chose to go with it. I had never read Octavia Paz before. I will have to find a book of this author’s work now.
    Thanks for posting this! VERY Beautiful displays of description! 🙂

    Like

  3. RA, glad to hear you’re keeping the blog up, and I did read and understand your reasons with the school. Best of luck. And thanks for the compliments and the visits. Truly appreciated.
    The Wit Continuum

    Like

Any thoughts?

