Another book…another scare…

Yes, I know, Halloween is well over, and I was late in picking up a good scary read for the season….but I have to say I’m not disappointed.  Let the Right One In is the scariest read since Duma Key by Stephen King.  Writer John Ajvide Lindqvist has been proclaimed the King of Sweden. I can see why. This is a true vampire story without the sickening crap, smoldering glares, and teen drama trauma to hinder its brilliance.

Though the story left some mysterious mysteries hanging….like that strange gold egg puzzle of Eli’s and what ever happened to the intern guy who got half eaten…he should have perhaps attacked quite a few people in the morgue later….

So it wasn’t prefect, had a lot of extra detail, but the last half of the book is so frightening we don’t care a wit.  The extra sexuality I can do without. It was unnecessary to enhance the story.

Yet to see either Swedish or American versions of Let Me In….will fill you in when I get my wits up see it.

I leave you now with the opening text of Part Five: Let the Right One Slip In:

Let the right one in
Let the old dreams die
Let the wrong ones go
They cannot do
What you want them to do

– Morrissey, “Let the Right One Slip In”

One Comment

Any thoughts?

