Home and Dry

Mr. C and were running errands yesterday and I heard one of my favorite songs, Home and Dry by Gerry Rafferty.  It seems this song, from my school days, from an album my friend and I played over and over again, was on the local classic rock station’s cycle of song play for the past month or so because I’ve heard this song at least twice a week for a few weeks now.  I never get tired of it.

So hearing it yesterday set yet another warm spell in my heart, singing along, picturing the clouds, and a pure ride back to a loved one.  There’s  a great story in that song, from this great song-writer.

I wondered what had happened to him occasionally. Then yesterday on World News I am told that Gerry Rafferty died at age 63 in Dorset, England.  His obit says he had complications with his liver and kidneys.  I was saddened tremendously, especially after hearing the song that very day….and singing it out so brilliantly.

That Baker’s Street album, and such songs as Right Down the Line along with Home and Dry will live on despite this loss of talent.  The loss of Gerry will hang with me for some time, especially if I keep hearing this song.

This silver bird takes me ‘cross the sky.
Just one more hour and I’ll be home and dry.
‘Cross the ocean
Way above the clouds
I come stealin’.

I gotta see you
I gotta be with you
We’ll make it better now
In every way.

It’s gotta be you
It’s gotta be you…
Yes, from now on I’ll tell you everyday….

Ooh, yes home and dry

Hope you are home and dry now Gerry.
Peace to you….wherever you are….

3 thoughts on “Home and Dry

  1. I will have to check his music out. I am unfamiliar with him. Sorry to hear it though.

    Love you dearly,

    SB

    Like

  2. You know I haven’t heard of the one that’s your favorite – I do remember listening to Baker Street, it was played on the radio quite a lot (’80’s) as I recall. It’s sad how we’re losing so many artists recently.

    Lis

    Like

Any thoughts?

