You see I have been here a long time now…

You see I have been here a long time now
And though the work I came for was years ago finished
It is an easy country to stay on in.
I have got used to the way of certain things here.
They can be absurdly irritating at times
But I get on quite well, really quite well with the people,
And then, they take you for granted.  And there’s the sun
And the night air in Summer.  There are the Southern roses,
I am as ease in these frequented ruins
And here at least I have my place as exile.

 

poem piece: Man in a Bar by Jenny Joseph

image link: waiting for summer

Any thoughts?

