My heavy heart has gone this way before…

There are more leaves on
The ground than grew on the trees.
I can no longer see the
Path; I find my way without
Stumbling; my heavy heart has
Gone this way before. Until
Life goes out memory will
not vanish, but grow stronger
Night by night.

-from On Flower Wreath Hill by Kenneth Rexroth
image: Branches by Hengki24

One Response to “My heavy heart has gone this way before…”

  1. Hadn’t heard of Rexroth, thanx for getting me to investigate

    “As the full moon rises
    The swan sings
    In sleep
    On the lake of the mind”
    -on Rexroth’s gravestone

    Like

Any thoughts?

