Words….in juice…

Been exploring this book called Alphabet Juice, The Energies, Gists, and Spirits of Letters, Words, and Combinations Thereof: Their Roots, Bones, Innards, Piths, Pips, and Secret Parts, Tinctures, Tonics, and Essences; With Examples of Their Usage Foul and Savory….

Yes, that’s the title…oh, and it’s by Roy Blount Jr. So I may share a few of these witty spirits from the book…ones that make me stop and think…or spark a memory of my own. Here’s one:

> double entendre

Not necessarily naughty. I remember when, in childhood, I first picked up on the double meaning of Bon Ami cleansing powder’s logo: a freshly hatched baby chick over the works “Hasn’t scratched yet.” Nice. See pun.

I can’t say what memory this sparks, but without showing my age too much I hope I do remember Bon Ami cleanser in my grandmother’s house when I was a little one. HHmm.

 

Any thoughts?

