The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – Rooney Mara

Well. the American movie version of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo will be here soon…and since I’ve read the book and haven’t seen the Swedish version, or its sequels, I’m looking forward to this one I guess. (I’ll have to cover my eyes for the rape scene…it’s simply the type of violence I cannot watch, or read for that matter, which is what frustrated me with the book…enough said). The movie is based on the successful posthumously released book series by Stieg Larsson. The casting of Daniel Craig is perfection I feel. We know him, we love James Bond, even if he’s a bit less than stellar as the British spy with nine or ten lives, and he was quite nice in The Golden Compass. He’ll be the perfect research/journalist/investigator/heart-throb that every woman wants to sleep with, and does, at least in the book anyway.

What really fascinates me is that this little known actress, Rooney Mara, will play the famously sexually abused slightly psychotic lead, pulled off the shelf by David Fincher (he had her there since his last film The Social Network, in which Mara played opposite Jesse Eisenberg as the girl who dumps the Facebook king in the snappiest opening dialogue exchange I’ve ever seen in film). Mara has a wondrous look, a fresh alert face that transcends beauty, an all too easy word to describe her. I, of course, love that she’s hit Vogue this month. What a great choice.

Vogue photography by Mert Alas and Marcus Piggott.

…and other magazine followed suit…

It’s hard to believe this is the same girl. Here she’s with her sister, actress Kate Mara.

This will be her break-out film, one that will top the box office no doubt. How does she feel about that?

“I’ve been trying to really live in the moment,” Rooney Mara says, “because I will never get this part of it back. As soon as the movie comes out, everyone will turn it into what they believe it is, so I’ve really been trying to appreciate every minute of now. Because I know what’s coming.”

Yeah, we do too.

What do you think? Are you going to see The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo? Have you read the book? Was it as good as all the hype?

4 Comments

  1. I have read all of the books and seen all of the movies. I could not put the books down, I crave another series as exciting as the Dragon series. I was disappointed in the movies because the characters are so rich in the books. I am hoping the American movie will do a better job with that, although I did like the casting on the other movies, very real looking people. I am definitely going to see!!

    Like

  2. My brother lent me all the books and he just said recently we’ve got to go see the American film version when it comes out. Agree with you totally about rape scenes, I find them very unsettling, worse on film.

    I really did love the series of books though and breezed through them. There is supposed to be one more – not sure if it was completed and with all the animosity between his love and his family, who knows if it’ll come out.

    Like

  3. Saw the three Swis subtitled films ( twice), we really enjoyed them. Thought the casting was perfect, Lizabeth character was very good. We missed some of the motives and story line in the first viewing but got it on the second go around. We saw the, Dragon Tattoo first,then, Played With Fire second,then, Kick the Hornet Nest. Not sure if the sequence was correct but very good movies. Just saw the English version last night and was just as good. We thought the Lizabeth in the Swiss movie was very good and maybe, Rooney wouldn’t be as good,but she certainly was. These are movies I’ll add to my home collection.

    Like

Any thoughts?

