10 Reasons to Skip Christmas

So it’s December 1, the unofficial first day of winter, according to my local weather man, and this Wit’s official day to start thinking about Christmas, though I’ve been thinking about it, honestly, for a few weeks now… this post is part of the results of such prolific thinking.  I’ve been hinting around the Continuum household that I’d love to be away for Christmas. Strange thing is, everyone agrees with me…but I know we won’t be going anywhere. Don’t get me wrong, I truly love Christmas, but don’t we all think sometimes, let it slip into our overworked brains, wouldn’t it be nice to just go to_________[insert your own Christmas dream vacation here].

That said, here are 10 Reasons to Skip Christmas…of course I have to follow up on this and give you 10 reasons why skipping Christmas is a bad idea, forgive me. 🙂

10 Reasons to Skip Christmas:

  1. Saving Money. (who couldn’t use some extra cash now, you know, to buy a Kindle for yourself, or a new computer, or just pay off that credit card!)
  2. Save a tree!
  3. No writing Christmas cards. (Who are half these people anyway?)
  4. No waiting in store check-out lines. (Wait, what, that’s the line to get in line? I have to go all the way back there? But I have to pee!)
  5. Traffic.
  6. Did I mention the traffic? (good reason to buy plane tickets online and hire a car to take you out to the airport!)
  7. Seeing and being nice to people you don’t really care about. (you all know what I mean…)
  8. Decorating the tree, and dealing with tangled Christmas lights, half of which go out during Christmas week.
  9. Wrapping presents. (Seriously, all those paper cuts and tape sticking to everything but the fucking wrapping paper, who need it?)
  10. That guy giving you the finger because you took his parking spot at Target. Merry Christmas asshole!

Okay, so here are 10 reasons Not to Skip Christmas:

  1. Shopping, because it really is fun when you get into it.
  2. Opening presents. (The kid in all of us needs this!)
  3. Drinking. Christmas gives you an excuse to buy really expensive liquor, plus, all that liquor makes those people you don’t really care about a whole lot lovelier.
  4. Seeing old friends and relatives.
  5. Experiencing Peace and Love emotionally and spiritually.
  6. Eating great food! (forget the diet! You look great as you are!)
  7. Baking cookies with your kids, and eating half of them before you put them away.
  8. Decorating the tree. We put on music. We sometimes drink wine. We make it a little party, just for us.
  9. Preparing Christmas Eve dinner and pretending that you are Martha Stewart (or Gwyneth Paltrow, the new Martha Stewart).
  10. Kissing under the mistletoe.

What are your reasons to skip Christmas? Or not too? Let me know.

2 Comments

  1. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve tweaked the “to-do” list for Christmas so that it is indeed pleasant for me:

    #1 I meet my mom in a coffee shop & we bring our cards & lists. We have coffee and write out all the Christmas cards – it’s great & goes by fast.

    #2 I limit my time w/the annoying relates to X-Mas eve dinner. They leave early for night church services and I’ve done my cameo….

    #3 I put on the music we always listened to as a kid (perry como) to get me in the mood for putting the tree up. That first night when I first see the lights, I’m glad I made the effort. (there were times I didn’t put up a tree & I missed it).

    #4 Shop early and utilize Amazon if possible. Sent to house, just wrap.

    That said, let me just say I’m with you–I’d love to go somewhere great for the holidays too!

    Like

  2. A thought about not going ahead with all the silly season diversions is that less time is available to see your good works and to make visits to the links provided. Yours is an exceptional blog among blogs and I feel fortuante to visit each time I might. Thank you and do have the best of the season’s warmth and tenderness for each you love.

    Like

Any thoughts?

