Some quotes to think about…

Well, we are in the midst of holiday week. Some of us are off work. Me, well, I’m still recovering from the Christmas sweep. I call it a “sweep” because we literally did everything at the last minute, like shopping, wrapping, dinner prep. Decorating I’m proud to say was earlier this year.  So now I feel like I’m catching my breath a bit, reading (on my new Kindle people! which is a pain in the ass to download to without wifi, but I’ve got it figured out now, still haven’t set it up without wifi service. Pathetic, I know. Remember, I’m a B- computer technology geek. You should see me with the new iPhone….thank God for the teen Wits in my house or I’d be lost!!)

So, tech aside, with relaxation, and hopefully more blogging to follow, I’ve come across some short lines that can be interpreted in unique ways if we think about them. With the new year and resolutions abounding, a few of these little quips spoke to me. See if any strike a cord with you and let me know.

Many demolitions are actually renovations.

“There is great wisdom in washing these bedclothes. Wash them.”

He enters and see the hands of God washing his incredibly dirty linen.

Let body needs dwindle and soul decisions increase.

Listen to the prophets, not to some adolescent boy.

Cry easily like a little child.

Be wide as the air to learn a secret.

The only real rest comes when you are alone with God.

Live in the nowhere that you came from, even though you have an address here.

Keep open the shop
where you’re not selling fishhooks anymore.
You are the free-swimming fish.

All quotes from Rumi

Peace…

4 Comments

  1. Rumi, Poe, Huxley…ah, yes. You have good taste! 🙂

    Anais NIn’s excerpt is wonderfully written and well said,
    or well put I might say. We have a few things in common.

    Very nice to meet you! I wish you the best in 2012! Peace, UT

    Like

Any thoughts?

