Romance Movie List

  1. Casablanca, 1942
  2. Gone with the Wind, 1939
  3. West Side Story, 1961
  4. Roman Holiday, 1953
  5. An Affair to Remember, 1957
  6. The Way We Were, 1973
  7. Doctor Zhivago, 1965
  8. It’s a Wonderful Life, 1946
  9. Love Story, 1970
  10. City Lights, 1931

It pains me that the list doesn’t include newer motion pictures, but then, maybe the industry isn’t producing romance movies with enough impact . The number one spot is Casablanca. I think there are few who would disagree. Romance reigns here. But it is one of the most miss-quoted movies of all time. In the movie, Bogart never said “Play it again, Sam.” I always thought Bergman was the one who said it, but the line actually was never said. The closest thing we come to it is Bogart saying: “You played it for her, you can play it for me. Play it!”  Like a rumor that gets distorted…as time goes by…

Anyway, in the list, some of my favorite movies make the AFI Top 100 Love Stories. Here are some I’ve watched and loved, and their ranking:

Out of Africa, 1985, my favorite all time romantic movie, made it to the number 13 spot.

Singin’ in the Rain, 1952, number 16.

Moonstruck, 1987, number 17. “Bella Luna!”

Ghost, 1990, number 19

Pretty Woman, 1990, number 21

When Harry Met Sally…, 1989, number 25

Titanic, 1997, number 37. I still cry when I watch it, except I start crying in the beginning…

Shakespeare in Love, 1998, number 50

The English Patient, 1996, number 56, my second all time favorite romance movie.

The Unbearable Lightness of Being, 1988, number 87

The Princess Bride, 1987, number 88, I hear a remake is on the way. Curious

Working Girl, 1988, number 91. So cute!

Dirty Dancing, 1987, number 93

Grease, 1978, number 97. I think I learned every word to every song back in my wee young days, via my constant playing of the movie’s double album.

Jerry Maguire, 1996, number 100.

 

One movie I would have put on this list is a cute little British film called Enchanted April. Everyone seems to find love in the end, in one way or another.

Do you have a favorite romance movie?

 

2 Responses to “Romance Movie List”

  1. Oh yes, you have all the classics going on over here…Personal favourite’s? Well, obviously all on your list, and the ‘Unbearable lightness’ definitely, but I’ll also go with a few more recent one’s. Like, what about ‘Eternal Sunshine of the spotless mind’? And what about the underrated ‘2 days in Paris’?. Which they’ve just made a follow up to, sigh.

    Like

  2. Beautiful quote on the right hand side so btw…

    Like

Any thoughts?

