Lovers…by the river…


Love had swept me clean
and filled me with poetic silence.

I tried to repeat your strength,
I tried to whisper it still.

I stood strong in the un-poetic wind
and sought only, simply, to remember
those things.

Your arms, the river, the light
a raging smile…
and the kiss.

It echoes through me still
even you so far away, so far away…

Today the sky was so blue
and the clouds a deep utterance,
a swiftness of light.

And yet, I saw you there, like the
old man saw you there
by the river…waiting.

I fell.

And you caught me.

2 thoughts on “Lovers…by the river…

Any thoughts?

