Believing in impossible things…

night-circus“And you are looking for answers,” Mr. Barris says.

“I don’t know what I’m looking for,” Tara responds, and for the moment her face crumples as though she might burst into tears, but then she composes herself. “Ethan, do you sometimes feel like you are dreaming, all the time?”

“No, I can’t say that I do.”

“I’m finding it difficult to discern between asleep and awake,” Tara says, tugging at her lace cuffs again. “I do not like being left in the dark. I am not particularly fond of believing in impossible things.”

Mr. Barris takes off his spectacles, wiping the lenses with a handkerchief before he replies, holding them up to the light to check for rogue smudges.

“I have seen a great many things that I might once have considered impossible, or unbelievable. I find I no longer have clearly defined parameters for such matters. I choose to do my work to the best of my own abilities, and leave others to their own.”

-from The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern

(a great book that I can’t put down…)

One thought on “Believing in impossible things…

Any thoughts?

