Addiction

Addiction

by Christopher Courtley

She stalks the shadows of my mind
And the dreams she leaves behind
Taunt me with her memory
Haunting nightmarish ecstasy.

A sickly lust, a prick of fear–
The night descends and brings her here
Naked and untouched by man
A moon-white virgin courtesan.

She is all and I am hers
Abject slave to a heart that stirs
For no one–so I nightly sit
In paradises counterfeit.

Loving her is poisoned bliss
Her kiss is death and still I kiss;
So banish sun and harsh daylight
And come sweet angel of the night–

Come upon the moonlight’s streaming
Come and light my darkest dreaming
Come and fill my veins with pleasure–
All I want, and all I treasure.

From Thirteen Black Roses: Gothic Romantic Poetry
by Christopher Courtley

Free book in iBooks

or visit

www.christophercourtley.com

Any thoughts?

